My Momentum 2012 goal: By December 31st, be at a BMI of 24, aka 160lb.

Okay – so I meant to write on sugar addiction in this article, but I left my draft at work…and it was so awesomely written that I don’t want to rewrite it- want the original.  So I will post that on Monday

There is something different about my resolutions this year.  I am not sure what, but I have a renewed strength like I have never had before.  Maybe its because I am joining the 30’s club this year and I am staring a list of “unachieved goals” right in the face.  Nothing throws you into a tri-life crisis like turning 30 and realizing you have been making the same “resolution” for the last 10 years.  yikes.

Something’s gotta be different this year.

So you see my goal above – to get to a BMI of 24.  For some reason. my tri-life crisis has made me realize that I finally need to slow down and take it one step at a time.   Figure out why I haven’t succeeded.  My education and experience has helped me take that first step, which I want to share with you.  Before you even start any kind of “life change”…you really need to make sure your goals are SMART.

So what does that mean?  That your goals have an IQ of 250?

Nah

They need to be S.M.A.R.T.

S-pecific

M-easureable

A-ttainable

R-ealistic

T-imely

Put your resolution to the “S.M.A.R.T” test.  Is it specific?  Specific not “I want to lose weight.”  How much weight?  Can you measure your success?  You can definitely measure a number…but you can’t measure “lose weight” or “pay off debt”  But you can measure a credit card balance that equals 5 G’s strong!  Attainable…can you actually achieve this goal? A BMI is achievable…a BMI of 18?  not so much.  Is it realistic for you?  Is your lifestyle, level of motivation etc conducive to reaching this goal?  And timely…give yourself a time frame to work in.  If you don’t…you will lose sight of your goal very quickly.

My goal is SMART.  It’s specific (lists exactly what I want), measurable (BMI 24), attainable (it is definitely a reasonable weight), realistic (i have the tools to make this happen for sure) and timely (by Dec 31st 2012)
What is your goal?  Is it in SMART fashion?  Remember…this is the first step to solidifying your resolution – for good!!

Cheers!

Christie aka One Hungry Dietitian!

